What are the five project phases?

What are the five project phases?

The project life cycle includes the steps required for project managers to successfully manage a project from start to finish. There are 5 phases to the project life cycle (also called the 5 process groups)—initiating, planning, executing, monitoring/controlling, and closing.

How many processes are in the Pmbok Guide 5th Edition?

There were five process groups and 42 processes in the 4th edition of the PMBOK Guide; in the 5th edition, the number of groups is the same, but now it has 47 processes.

What are the phases of Pmbok?

According to the PMBOK Guide (Project Management Body of Knowledge) by the Project Management Institute (PMI), a project management life cycle consists of 5 distinct phases including initiation, planning, execution, monitoring, and closure that combine to turn a project idea into a working product.

What are the deliverables of the Pmbok?

A deliverable is any product, service, or result that must be completed to finish a project. As per the PMBOK® Guide, deliverables are an important output of the Direct and Manage Project Execution in the Project Integration Management knowledge area.

How is the Pmbok divided?

The PMBOK Guide is divided into chapters and sub chapters. Companion products such as books and the Project Management Prepcast are usually also divided into chapters that mirror the chapter numbering of the PMBOK Guide.

What are the key concepts of PMBOK?

PMBOK Fifth Edition The 5th edition of PMBOK included Stakeholder Management and was designed around process groups: Initiating, Planning, Executing, Monitoring and Controlling, and Closing. The ten knowledge areas are mapped to the five process groups.

How many phases are there in the PMBOK?

The Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) divides projects into five phases. Although the term ‘phase’ implies that they are carried out in chronological order, in practice they can be performed out of order.

What is the scope management process in PMBOK?

PMBOK 5thEdition 5 5.1 Plan Scope Management The process of creating a scope management plan that documents how the project scope will be defined, validated, and controlled. The key benefit of this process is that it provides guidance and direction on how scope will be managed throughout the project. PMBOK 5thEdition 6

Which is the best guide for project management?

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) is PMI’s flagship publication and is a fundamental resource for effective project management in any industry.

What are the phases of a project life cycle?

1. Project Life Cycle: Phases. The definition given by the PMBOK® Guide of a project life cycle is a series of phases that represent the evolution of a product, from concept through delivery, maturity, and to retirement.