Are Mormon temples open?

Are Mormon temples open?

Since May 2020, temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints have been reopening in a cautious, careful way, in five phases and based on local circumstances and governmental restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Temples in the first four phases are operating on a limited basis.

Which LDS temples are Phase 3?

They are:

  • Bountiful Utah Temple.
  • Brigham City Utah Temple.
  • Cedar City Utah Temple.
  • Draper Utah Temple.
  • Jordan River Utah Temple.
  • Logan Utah Temple.
  • Manti Utah Temple.
  • Monticello Utah Temple.

Why are the LDS temples closed?

All temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will close today in response to growing restrictions related to COVID-19, the First Presidency announced this evening.

How many LDS temples are open now?

The list of reopened temples currently includes 160 of the church’s 168 dedicated temples worldwide.

What new temples were announced 2021?

President Nelson announces 13 new temples during October 2021 general conference

  • Kaohsiung, Taiwan.
  • Tacloban City, Philippines.
  • Monrovia, Liberia.
  • Kananga, Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • Antananarivo, Madagascar.
  • Culiacán, México.
  • Vitória, Brazil.
  • La Paz, Bolivia.

How many LDS temples are there in 2021?

3, 2021, 4:53 p.m. | Updated: 10:16 p.m. President Russell M. Nelson closed the two-day General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on Sunday by announcing 13 new temples — including one for the Heber Valley, which will bring Utah’s total of existing or planned temples to 28.

How long will Temple Square be closed?

approximately four years
Top Activities at Temple Square *Please note the Temple will close on December 29, 2019 and will remain closed for approximately four years while undergoing a major structural and seismic renovation. It is expected to reopen in 2024.

How many LDS temples are there 2021?

The Church of Jesus Christ now has 265 temples announced, under construction or operating. Each of the Church’s temples is a “house of the Lord,” where the teachings of Jesus Christ are reaffirmed. These are most sacred places of worship on the earth.

What new temples were announced April 2021?

Heber Valley, Utah The other 27 temples comprise the Bountiful, Brigham City, Cedar City, Deseret Peak, Draper, Ephraim, Jordan River, Layton, Lindon, Logan, Manti, Monticello, Mount Timpanogos, Ogden, Oquirrh Mountain, Orem, Payson, Provo City Center, Provo, Red Cliffs, Salt Lake, Saratoga Springs, Smithfield, St.