Where should I start with Terry Pratchett books?

Where should I start with Terry Pratchett books?

It’s never too late to start exploring the wonderful world of Terry Pratchett.

  • Go on a fantastic journey.
  • Amazing adventures with unlikely heroes.
  • Dive into the magic of Discworld.
  • Short story surprises.

What is the best Terry Pratchett book to start with?

5 essential Terry Pratchett novels you need to read

  1. Going Postal. Our favorite of Pratchett’s novels, Going Postal follows a con man as he attempts to revitalize the post office in Discworld’s premiere city of Ankh-Morpork (a place where stamps are not yet a thing).
  2. The Color of Magic.
  3. Good Omens.
  4. The Wee Free Men.
  5. Mort.

Do you need to read Terry Pratchett books in order?

You can read the books in the order you want, because it’s an anthology. But, even if the Discworld is made of stand-alone novels, there are recurring protagonists.

Can you start with any Discworld book?

But there’s no terrible place to start with the Discworld books, at least for readers who accept one caveat off the bat: No single Discworld novel is fully representative of the others. Pratchett’s writing style, interests and humor evolved considerably over decades of work, so the series evolved with him.

Are Terry Pratchett books stand alone?

Rincewind/Death/Wizards However, each Discworld story exists entirely independently and can be read as its own novel without reference to any of the others, and details of other novels will be minimal, so really, the adventurous reader can jump in pretty much anywhere.

How many Terry Pratchett Discworld books are there?

41 Discworld novels
In total, there are 41 Discworld novels published over 32 years. The books can be read in any order but for ease we have created two downloadable lists for you that will help you to fully explore the stories and characters of Discworld.

What kind of books does Terry Pratchett write?

Terry Pratchett is an internationally acclaimed author who specializes in fantasy books. He was born Terrence David John Pratchett in 28th of April 1948 in Beaconsfield Buckinghamshire, England.

Where does Terry Pratchett’s Discworld take place?

The Discworld is the fictional setting of Terry Pratchett’s most iconic series. All the Discworld novels take place on a flat, circular world which sits on the back of four elephants, which stand on the back of a giant star turtle.

When did Terry Pratchett die and what year?

First off, a bit of bad news. I’m sorry to say that Terry Pratchett died in March 2015. The good news is, his discworld stories are amazing and you can enjoy them any time. You have 2 choices when deciding on a reading order for discworld novels:

Who is Dodger in Terry Pratchett books?

Dodger is a tosher; a scavenger of the sewers. But Dodger’s star soon begins to rise out of the darkest depths of London, after he rescues a young girl from her powerful husband. Suddenly, everyone wants to know the name ‘Dodger’.